Skip navigation

ProdigalSon

The Leading of a Prodigal back Home:

I chose to witness to my roommate who asked to remain anonymous. She has some knowledge of the Bible, has attended church, but has lost her child, is in a failing marriage, a victim of multiple repeated domestic assaults incidents by various boyfriends, sexual assaults and is fighting a battle with alcoholism. On top of all these struggles she has a strained relationship with her family and suffers from depression and anxiety. However, she wants to know Jesus. I saw the opportunity to help turn her life around and possibly help her ease her pain as well as guide her along the path of salvation. With the permission of my wife Sheryl we decided to take her on, reluctantly, as a border, during the beginning of the semester. I have tried to reach her in the past but to no avail. When she reached out to me this time my heart could not say no. Although, I was hurt by her in the past, as we once were engaged, I also, had an unsuccessful real estate deal with her and we have had a struggling friendship for many years as I have felt she has always came to me when she only needed something in the past. I prayed forgave her empathized with her and started fresh this time allowing the Holy Spirit to direct the friendship.

PART ONE – What method of evangelism did you use and how did you start the Conversation?

I would guess I it started initial as a gesture of friendship Evangelism but I employed a mixture of methods during the conversation. As I stated in the above introductory, she as some knowledge of the scripture so I pulled from the intellectual approach mostly. Using the outline of  “The Roman Road” and “The Principals of the Spiritual Laws” I was  able to redirect her thinking away from a secular view to a theological view.  I then asked some of the questions in “The masters Approach.

 

PART TWO – What was the reaction?

At first she was trying to impress me with her knowledge of scriptures and trying to say that some sin is ok in one’s life. All she has to do is pray after her sin and all is forgiven.

I had to switch gears hear and reminder of what James says on Scripture knowledge and Christ on deeds in Matthew.

James 2:15-19

New International Version (NIV)

“15 Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? 17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

18 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”

Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds. 19 You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”[i]

Matthew 7:22-25

New International Version (NIV)

22 “Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’”[ii]

At points she became agitated and stating “It is not right to force religion on someone” and “people should have the right to drink and have a good time.” I was able to calm her down by reading from Isaiah:

 

Isaiah 64:6-9

New International Version (NIV)

6 “All of us have become like one who is unclean,

    and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags;

we all shrivel up like a leaf,

    and like the wind our sins sweep us away.

7 No one calls on your name

    or strives to lay hold of you;

for you have hidden your face from us

    and have given us over to[a] our sins.

8 Yet you, Lord, are our Father.

    We are the clay, you are the potter;

    we are all the work of your hand.

9 Do not be angry beyond measure, Lord;

    do not remember our sins forever.

Oh, look on us, we pray,

    for we are all your people.”

 

She then started talking about worry doubt and fears. I reassured her that once she commits her life and trusts fully in the lord these things will start to leave her. That it is our self-reliance, or on things like our material success, other people, and things of the world that bring about happiness. Even our friends and family can let us down at times but our one true friend Christ will never let us down. Christ God and the Holy Spirit are always there. Are always are true friends are our real family. All we need to do his reach out and ask. She then said a marvelous thing. “We can do all things with the power of the Holy Spirit Amen?

I took this as a confession of Salvation and the presence of the Spirit.

 

 

PART THREE – How did you conclude the conversation in order to follow up? 

We concluded it with a copy of my evangelism paper as she wanted to review some of the scriptures and charts as used to illustrate our sinful nature. I invited her to attend Gateway Baptist Church with myself and my wife and gave her a meditation book and a book outlining Psalms 23 to carry to work with her. I informed her she can come to me at any time for prayer or counseling and as long as she will make an attempt to live righteously and not bring evil into my household she is welcome to stay. I will be a friend to her and love her in the way Jesus loves. I reminded her that Love is the greatest Commandment:

Matthew 22:37-40

New International Version (NIV)

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”[iii]

 

 

 


[i] http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=James%202:15-19&version=NIV. Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc. ® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

[ii] http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew%207:22-25&version=NIV. Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

[iii] http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew%2022:37-40&version=NIV. Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

Leave a Reply

